Let Me Explain How I Feel Toward You Right Now Using Breakfast Foods

The basis of a friendship

is not taking advantage of another person.

So when you tell me you want to be friends,

after you’ve used me

to figure out how you feel about another person,

like a kid who tries out Lucky Charms for a week

and then realizes he still likes Cheerios,

I cannot trust your friendship.

Because I am the half-eaten box of colorful cereal that sits in your pantry.

You opened me up,

had a taste,

and then picked at me until you took out all of your favorite pieces.

I understand that kids don’t apologize to different shapes of marshmallows,

but you are more grown up than that,

and so am I.

lucky charms

Leave a Reply

