This Is Me Saying Thank You and That I’m Sorry

I didn’t realize how much I missed the smell of you,

the taste of your lips,

the familiarity of your touch.

I spent our time apart

ignoring the reality that what you gave me

was more important than flowers and dinner.

I’m sorry, darling,

that I acted so disappointed with you

for expressing love in a different language than me.

You only did what you knew to be true,

and I only wanted what I understood.

I am used to being showered with compliments and gifts,

but not with true affection.

But sometimes

dear,

it takes time away

to realize that relationships are not ever going to work

the way we expect them too.

But that does not mean they are not good for us.

couples 13

 

Leave a Reply

