The Tendency to Overlook Quality

ink

I like the way a pen looks on paper,

but it’s far too slow to keep up with the words that I think.

It’s kind of like the way I like to walk around a bookshop,

even though I hardly ever stop to read.

I’m much too busy absorbing the beauty of the way the stacks look all lined up.

Maybe that’s why I pick things out of convenience,

like typing on a computer.

Maybe that’s why I like things that are pretty on the outside,

like people.

Except when you find out that they don’t have the same quality

as a word that’s been written in black ink.

 

Leave a Reply

