Nautical

I wear an anchor on my neck

just like I wear my heart on my sleeve.

They say it symbolizes strength and stability,

that it marks the end of a long journey.

It reminds me

that only I can hold myself steady

when the ocean waves tirelessly rock the ship

that carries the experiences of my life.

Back and forth it sways,

but it does not sail away

because of me.

I am the anchor.

Some days I brave the expanse of the ocean,

with the knowledge that I can drop to the bottom of the sea

whenever I please

and make friends with the fish.

anchor

Leave a Reply

