Thanks for the Clarity

All you had to do was come over for 30 minutes

and let me sit in your arms while I cried.

I know I said goodbye,

but it doesn’t mean that I didn’t need to see you one last time.

Instead, you had to go out to the bars

like you always do

with the same people you always see.

I’ve learned that people show you their true colors after they are gone

just like you did last night.

And darling,

I’m just too well versed in this game

to be with someone who chooses rum over half an hour with me.

Leave a Reply

