Proceed With Caution

It’s a new year,

and I think it’s time to proceed with caution.

Next time I get the feels,

next time I want a body next to mine,

I want to think before I act.

I want to be real with myself.

I want to be honest.

Am I going to hurt someone?

Am I going to break a heart?

‘Cause this time around, I don’t want to be the reason for anyone else’s pain.

I’d rather let the loneliness hurt me instead.

I’d rather be a victim of unrequited love.

I’d rather sit with myself until I find a partner that I want permanently glued to my frame.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

