Finding Yourself

I don’t like when people tell me that “I’m finding myself”

just because I’m young.

It feels like they’re trying to justify my behavior,

pulling the age card,

saying that I do what I do,

I do only because I’m not old enough to understand,

and not because it’s just who I am.

I think that everyone is finding themselves.

We never stop.

At age 10,

or 20,

or

80.

We’re all just evolving

with every passing year.

So don’t tell me with a condescending tone that “I’m finding myself,”

like I haven’t already discovered so much about me,

like my actions embarrass you

and so you choose to widdle them down to foolishness.

Leave a Reply

