Living Room

When I walk down the street at night,

I like to look into your windows.

I guess I just want to know who you are.

I love the way your lights shine through the panes,

the way your books are aligned on your shelf,

the way you cook in your kitchen,

the intimacy of it all.

I don’t know who you are,

but I always wonder.

Who are you talking to?

What is your love?

Who do you call your family?

And most of all, what are you cooking for dinner?

I wish I could knock on your door and invite myself into your living room

just for the night

so that I knew what it was like to be you.

2 thoughts on “Living Room

Leave a Reply

