Money, Honey

It’s all about the money, honey.

It’s money that runs the world.

It’s money that poisons love.

How does it make you feel when your friend tells you that you “owe them?”

How does it make you feel when your lover tells you that they’ll do something for you only if you pay them? Like your love isn’t enough or something.

I don’t know about you, but it’s just not ok by me.

When I give you something, I’m not waiting for you to give me something back.

When I buy you dinner, it’s because I want to, because I know you will  enjoy it.

You don’t need to say to say “I owe you.”

You don’t owe me anything. I’m just grateful to be in your life and have you in mine. I’m grateful to be in your arms.

This love isn’t conditional.

So next time, when I buy you dinner, just say “thank you” instead.

Don’t remind me of all the stuff you’ve done like I haven’t showed you my appreciation in a dozen different ways.

Please don’t make our so relationship so much less than it is by turning it green and holding your fingers against your wallet instead of my hand.

 

Leave a Reply

