The Human Touch

I fear that I have become attached to the idea of being held.

That feeling of someone’s hands wrapped around my body.

I used to go so long without being touched that I forgot what it felt like.

I forgot how important it was.

I remember two years ago this moment in yoga class.

I was lying in shavasana, and my instructor rested his hands on my shoulders.

I flinched.

And then I got into the car and cried,

because I forgot what it was like for someone to rest their hands on me like that.

Nobody should ever feel that way.

Sometimes, we are alone for so long that we don’t even know what is missing.

The human connection of the body and mind,

someone’s arm laced around your stomach.

It is like drinking water and breathing air.

We need it to survive.

Leave a Reply

